2010 General Election Summary

The New Mexico Governor's seat changed parties with the election of Republican Susana Martinez over Democrat Diane Denish.  Martinez was the District Attorney from Dona Ana County and has become the first ever Hispanic women governor is the US, and the first woman elected Governor in New Mexico. 
In the New Mexico House of Representatives, 11  Republicans defeated Democratic incumbents or were candidates for open seats; David Chavez(def incumbAndrew Barreras,), Alonzo Baldonado(def Julian Luna ), David Doyle(def incumb Ben Rodefer ), Nate Gentry(def inc Karen Giannini ), Terry McMillan(def inc  Jeff Steinborn ), Yvette Herrell(def Susan Medina), Cathrynn Brown( def inc John Heaton), Timothy Lewis(def inc  Jack Thomas ), James Smith(open seat ), Conrad James( open seat) and Ricky Little  (def inc Nathan Cote ) were elected, and no Republican state representatives lost their bids for re-election.  On the Democrat side of the aisle, a new Democrat representative, George Dodge Jr., was elected and replaces Democrat Jose Campos who did not seek re-election to the House. In the House, the margin is now 37 Democrats to 33 Republicans. Because the Senate was not up for election in 2010, the margin remains 27 Democrats to 15 Republicans.
In the congressional races, Republican Steve Pearce returns to Congress after defeating incumbent Democrat Harry Teague, incumbent Democrat Martin Heinrich beat Republican Jon Barela, and incumbent Democrat Ben Ray Lujan defeated Republican Tom Mullins. Democrats now hold four of the state's five congressional delegation positions.
             In the Secretary of State race, the only other statewide executive post to change parties, Republican Dianna Duran defeated incumbent Democrat Mary Herrera to become the first Republican to hold that post in 80 years. Judicial, Public Regulation Commission and County offices were up for election, or retention, also. Three of four statewide bond issues passed, with Bond Issue 4, educational facilities funds, failing by less than 2500 votes.


The Rutherford Group  •  P.O. Box 8747 Santa Fe NM 87504  •  505-984-0342
facebok twitter youtube